The Clamshell Bag!

Hey! Today I am documenting the resurrection of a 1940’s vintage bag that I have redesigned and brought back to life.

I first found the original 1940’s vintage crochet pattern about 6 years ago while I was pregnant with my 3rd child, i croched it exactly how is was instructed in the pattern and was quite pleased with the outcome and started to make the bag in different colours put them on eBay to sell so I didn’t have a large pile of bags taking up space in my house, mind you I was only able to crochet in my spare time so I wasn’t making regular cash from this hobby until a few years later a lady saw one of my bags on eBay and asked me if I could make her one but to add something inbetween the lining to make the bag firm.

I was happy for the challenge and accepted my first custom order.

It was suggested by her to use thick felt so that it what I did, I made her the bag to her specifications and shipped it to her.

IMG_4352
It wasn’t long after that I started recieving enquiries for my services.

Follow link to purchase custom Made4You crochet ( clamshell ) bag.

As time has gone by and with every custom order i have received the bag has evolved into the bag you see today, I have now written my own pattern for the clamshell bag for other people that enjoy crocheting can make their own and you can find the pattern here.

Thank you for your time.

Until next time……..1Luv! 😉

Leave a comment